+44 (0) 7931 368493

Glossary of Terms


Now at 3rd edition 2009, ISO/IATF16949 is an ISO Technical Specification which aligns existing US, French, Italian and German automotive quality management system standards (such as VDA-6, EAQF and AVSQ) within the global automotive industry. Together with ISO9001:2008 it specifies the quality system requirements for the design/development, production, installation and servicing of automotive related products.

BS EN ISO 9001:2015

The international quality management system standard.

– Quality Management System

– Integrated Management Systems

– is a systematic methodology for continuously improving and maintaining the workplace and infrastructure both in terms of environment and care of equipment/machinery. Ideally used as a key practical tool during business and process improvement and/or QMS implementation. It creates ownership of areas and involves personnel at all levels.

APQP – Advanced Product Quality Planning

FMEA – Failure Mode & Effects Analysis

SPC – Statistical Process Control

GRR – Gauge Repeatability & Reproducibility

PPAP – The Production Part Approval Process is intended to validate that products made from production materials, tools and processes meet the customer’s engineering requirements and that the production process has the potential to produce product meeting those requirements during an actual production run at the quoted rate.

ISO 14001:2015 – Is an environmental management systems specification, with guidance for use, to enable an organisation to formulate a policy and objectives, taking into account legislative requirements and information about significant environmental impacts.

OHSAS18001 – An Occupational Health and Safety Management System (OHSMS) is a framework that allows an organisation to consistently identify and control its health and safety risks, reduce the potential for accidents, help achieve compliance with health and safety legislation and continually improve its performance.
OHSAS 18001 is an internationally accepted specification that defines the requirements for
establishing, implementing and operating an OHSMS. The specification was developed with
the assistance of a number of international standards bodies and certification bodies.
Therefore, OHSAS 18001 fills a void, in that there is currently no international ISO standard suitable for independent third-party certification.

A new ISO standard, ISO 45001 for an occupational health and safety management system is being produced which is envisaged to replace BS OHSAS 18001.

MSA – Measurement Systems Analysis.

Disciplined Problem Solving – Structured application of basic principles such as Cause & Effect Analysis, Brainstorming, 5Whys etc to investigate root causes and implement corrective/preventive actions.

Contact Us

Mobile: 07931 368493
Email: colin@smith-consultants-ltd.co.uk

Our Clients

Website created by RedKiteIT